Sunday, May 26, 2024

THE 2024 ALEXANDER NDERITU PRIZE FOR WORLD LITERATURE is proud to present the inaugural Alexander Nderitu Prize For World Literature. Prize will be awarded to the best unpublished short story from anywhere in the world and is aimed at launching new literary stars.

DATES: The submission window opens on 1 May 2024 and closes on 31 May 2024. The long and shortlists shall be announced towards the end of the year. The winner shall be unveiled in early 2025.

THEME:  Being cognizant of the turbulent times we are currently living in, this year’s theme is simply: ‘Peace’.

ELIGIBILITY: The contest is open to citizens from all over the globe above 18 years of age. Entries must be previously unpublished and may be written in English or Kiswahili languages.


  • Only one entry per person.
  • Submissions should be in a Microsoft Word (doc, docx) document. Format: Times New Roman font, 12-point size, double-spaced. The story, minus the title, must be between 3,000 and 5,000 words. Pages should be numbered.
  • There is no entry fee.
  • Only the title of the story and the word count should appear in the document along with the story. No author-identifying information should be included.
  • Submissions shall be via email. Entries should be sent to The subject shall be: Submission for Alexander Nderitu Prize For World Literature 2024. Place your cover letter in the body of the e-mail. It should include the author’s legal name, age, nationality, one-paragraph bio, and contact details. Shortlisted entrants may be asked to provide photos and further information
  • Shortlistees grant permission to publish their stories online. In addition, Prize organizers may publicize the fact that their entry has been longlisted or shortlisted for the Prize. Authors retain copyright over their work.
  • Any submissions received after the deadline will not be read.
  • Simultaneous entries are accepted but kindly inform us if your story is accepted elsewhere during the judging period.
  • The winner shall be expected to take part in publicity activities, especially online
  • Any entries that do not meet all conditions of entry will be automatically disqualified.
  • The judges’ decision is final.

PRIZE: The overall winner shall receive a Kshs 100,000 (USD$ 740.00) cash prize and an online marketing campaign worth another Kshs 100,000; sponsored by IT firm Websoft Interactive.

JUDGES: This year’s judging panel consists of:-

  • Camilla Bauer (Sweden): Translator and short story writer. Former reader and adviser on English and French literature to prominent publishing houses in Stockholm. MA in English Literature from The University of Sussex, and former student of French literature and culture at the Sorbonne. Former Juror at Radio Sweden selecting The Best Swedish Novel of The Year.
  • Dr. Paula O. M. Otukile (Botswana): Award-winning author. Founder and Chief Executive Officer at Mulher Forte African Literature Pty Ltd, which includes the Mulher Forte African Awards.
  • Rupasinghe D. Pramudith (Sri Lanka): Laureate of the Golden Aster Prize for Global Literature (2020) for his fiction set in Ukraine, Bayan. Known for his cross-cultural works of fiction. He has been judging the UK’s prestigious Page-turner awards for two consecutive years. CEO of The Asian Group of Literature which includes The Asian Review literary magazine.
  •  Henry Akubuiro (Nigeria): Playwright, novelist, short story, and children's literature author. Winner of the 1998 National Essay Competition organized by the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sport and the 1998 BBC World Service Young Reporters’ Competition. He was the runner-up for the ANA Prose Prize (2017) and the Nigeria Media Merit Award Arts and Culture Reporter of the Year (2022). 
  • Alexander Nderitu (Kenya): Poet, novelist, playwright, and critic. Winner of the Business Daily 'Top 40 Under 40' Kenyan Men Award (2017), IHRAF Human Rights Playwriting Prize (2021), Share Africa Climate Fiction Award (2022), Sahitto International Prizes for Literature Jury Award (2023), and the SEVHAGE-Agema Founders’ Prize for African Criticism (2023). He will chair this year's jury.

No comments:

Post a Comment